Napoleon's Defeat at Waterloo

In 1813, Prussia and Austria joined with Russia in the War of the Sixth Coalition against France. After a lengthy military campaign, Napoleon was defeated at the Battle of Leipzig in October 1813. Napoleon's enemies later captured Paris in the Spring of 1814, forcing Napoleon to abdicate the throne in April. He was exiled to the island of Elba off the coast of Tuscany, and the Bourbon dynasty was restored to power. Napoleon escaped from Elba in February 1815 and again took control of France. On June 18, 1815, Napoleon Bonaparte was defeated by Duke of Wellington and Gebhard Leberecht von Blücher at the Battle of Waterloo, which forced Bonaparte to abdicate the throne of France for the second and final time. He was exiled to the remote island of Saint Helena in the South Atlantic, where he died six years later at the age of 51